Glee: Season 5, episode 5 – Review

Let me be really honest here: I was NOT expecting this episode to be good. Like, at all. I was completely ready for it to suck beyond belief.

I was proven wrong.

Now, I’m not saying it was the best episode ever. Far from it, actually. It wasn’t even GOOD; it ranges from ‘okay’ to ‘not too terrible’. But that’s still a pretty good rating, considering the episode mainly focused on TWERKING, for Christ’s sake.

All right, let’s talk about the good parts first.

I really, really loved the main NYC storyline. When I first heard about the tattoos from spoilers, I was incredibly angry because that seems SO EXTREMELY out of character for both Kurt and Rachel. However, it was actually done very well, and all the tattoos they got fit their personalities completely. Rachel revealing at the end that she had gotten a tattoo of Finn’s name on her abs was very, very sweet.

BUT: I HATED that she tricked her director, and then KEPT DEFENDING HERSELF AFTER HE STARTED YELLING AT HER. I have been in a Broadway show before. I’ve signed their contracts. I know that in the real world, pulling a stunt like that will get you fired, or at the very least an extreme warning. Rachel should have gone to the rehearsal with her hair down and SHOWN him the wig as a suggestion; she should have asked his permission first. It is absolutely NOT up to her.

The twerking was stupid. There is no other way to put this; it was a terrible idea. It was just…dumb. I am thankful that they realized that at the end of the episode. I also was pleased with the fact that Sue understood Blurred Lines, and what it’s really about. It was actually fairly humorous that Will didn’t understand it.

Unique’s storyline was very moving, and I think “If I Were a Boy” was a great choice of song for her to sing. It really captured the emotions of the situation well, and Alex Newell did a fantastic job acting it (and singing it!)

What really, really surprised me about this episode was the Marley storyline. Not the fact that she found out about Jake; I was expecting that. What threw me off was just how much I CARED. For all of last season, I really disliked Marley. I thought she was boring and had no personality, and her scenes were not interesting to me. But now…she’s actually becoming a person – a real human being, with likes and dislikes, and I so enjoy the fact that she is COMFORTABLE with who she is, and she’s not going to change for anyone, whether they’re her teacher or her (now ex) boyfriend. She’s girly and sweet and she’s not comfortable with certain things, and that’s okay. And I was shocked to find that I was upset during Wrecking Ball.

In all, while this was still not a great episode, it WAS entertaining, and the plotlines were fairly interesting. So, I give it a B- or a C+.

Leave a comment